top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureConnor Payne

February Intentions

February is the month of Valentine's Day, which also means it's the month of LOVE. While I don't currently have a significant other, I do have a whole lot of love for myself. In life, I think that's the most important kind of love. Of course there times when I struggle with self love, but when I get in those funks, I always do my best to recognize it and try and learn from it. If you'll recall from my January Intentions blog post, one of key words was PATIENCE. Practicing more patience with myself when I get in a rut is what has been so essential in working to show myself more self love. Without further ado, below are my intentions for the month of February. Focusing on being grateful and giving myself the love I deserve.





1) Make time for the things you love and what you find most serves you. I'm all about filling your cup with the good stuff. There also comes a time when it's important to pour out what doesn't serve you from your cup. If I have to physically schedule in time to do the things that I love, so be it. It is my intention to just make sure I stay on top of doing them because they are ultimately all adding up to that higher umbrella of showing myself love.


2) Don't be afraid to spend more time with yourself. I am someone who has always preferred to be around other and to constantly be on the go doing things. I've slowly realized how beneficial it is to prioritize my alone time, however. When I slow down and am just spending time with myself, I notice that I become a lot happier and way less stressed out.


3) Try to journal every day - your thoughts and feelings are important. This is a big one for me. I have really never been one to pick up a notebook and start journaling about my day, my thoughts, my emotions, etc. This month, I'm going to dedicate just 5-10 minutes before bed to write about my day, what I experienced, how I'm feeling about certain things going on in my life, and just plain old venting. I have journaled very sporadically throughout the past few months and have noticed a difference when I'm able to just get down my thoughts on paper and have the opportunity to "tell someone" what's going on.


4) Spread the love and kindness that has been shown to you. This one is simple. I have so many great family, friends, coworkers, and peers in my life who have been there for me a countless number of times. They have shown me love, patience, and more throughout hard times, and it's important that that is recognized. I feel it is only right to spread the love and kindness back to them and others in my life to better this world. I have of course strived to do this throughout my life as much as possible, but I think it's time to put in some more effort because we could all use it. The world, politics, and other situations can be harsh sometimes, but if I can be just one light or put one smile on someone's face, I know I'll be happy.


KEY WORD: GRATEFUL

-Adding another word to my list for 2020! My first two were PATIENCE and ACCEPTANCE. Ever since writing those down, I have definitely noticed a change in how I approach various things in life. So now it's time to show gratitude. I truly have so much to be grateful for. Here are just a few; my parents, my job, my friends, my Instagram community, food on the table, my spin and hot yoga classes, the roof over my head, my LIFE. Implementing a gratitude practice on a regular basis is also something I want to do. It really makes you look at all that you have and just appreciate everything a little more.


Love and light,

Connor

127 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page