top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureConnor Payne

Intentions for January & the Year Ahead


2020, I'm ready for ya! It's the start of a new month, a new year, and a new decade - this is big people!! My monthly routine of writing out my intentions is super important to me because it helps guide me in so many ways. I'll be writing up a blog post every month that discusses my intentions, and I encourage you all to make some too! Even if it's just one thing you want to work on. They can be so essential in helping you navigate life in the coming days and will ultimately serve as a reminder of how to live with a little more intent. Without further ado, here are my January 2020 intentions! I have also included some key words that I want to keep in mind throughout the year as a whole. This list of key words isn't concrete, so I'll most likely be adding to it as the days progress, but this is what we're starting with 😊


January Intentions



1) Be mindfully productive - Make your to-do lists, set your routines, get done what you need to get done, be mindful while doing it. I am someone who truly thrives on to-do lists and having some sort of routine in place. I know not everyone is like this and many preach a practice of "just go with the flow", but having a routine is what works for me and what makes me feel most at ease! I want to implement the "mindful" part a little more this month, however. It's so important that you do what serves you. This month, if something isn't working or sitting well with me, for example, I'm going to honor that feeling and change what I need to change.


2) Slow down, don't rush through things - While I love having a routine, I also need to remember to slow down and take it easy once in a while. "Calmness helps the mind to see more clearly and pausing to think helps you make better decisions." -Yung Pueblo


3) Thank yourself more often - The past year has been one of quite a bit of self-criticism and doubt. I need to keep in mind that I'm simply doing the best that I can. I need to thank myself for showing up and living my life! Some things that I'm going to start saying more often: Thank you allowing me to move and go to workout classes. Thank you for staying positive in times of stress or darkness. Thank you for surrounding me with amazing people and experiences.


4) Don't be afraid to seek and ask for help - This is where I'm about to get a little vulnerable. Over the past year, I have been through some things. I won't get into too much of that right now, but I have ultimately realized that it's going to be good for me to see a therapist. Mental health is so important and it's taken me a little bit to truly see that and do something about it. I've started some research and will be looking to seek that help in the coming weeks and I am so excited for that for myself! Additionally, whenever I'm struggling with something, I tend to like to just figure it out for myself, but I have definitely seen how beneficial it can be when you just ask someone for help that knows what they're doing. You ultimately get the job done faster this way, and it shouldn't be something that you're embarrassed about when you do need help!


 

Key Words for 2020


1) ACCEPTANCE - More self-acceptance, acceptance of others, acceptance of my feelings, acceptance of where I am currently, acceptance of all the good in my life, acceptance of all the not so good and what I can do to learn from those things.


2) PATIENCE - Patience is key. Practice patience with yourself, your friends, your family, etc. Trust that life and things are happening as they should. It's beneficial to help to manifest things, but ultimately, they will come when they're meant to. Patience is power.

6 views0 comments
bottom of page